Ed’s Voice Finds Comfort… in a TV Show?

I am going to take an intermission on the details of myself and how I struggle with Ed’s Voice to tell you about my all time favorite television show.  It is a British drama that in the usual British fashion, nothing is off limits. Literally. They cover it all: sex, drugs, alcohol, death, high school angst, love, eating disorders.  And this gave me a chance to quiet Ed’s Voice.

 

The show can be found on Netflix, Amazon Prime [for a cost], and maybe some hidden servers that I do not know about. Why do I love the show so much? It is the first show I have ever seen that I completely identify with the characters and feel that they exemplify my struggles. It shows Ed’s Voice at Ed’s finest. But the best part is the viewer does not necessarily hear Ed’s Voice so much as experience and feel Ed’s Voice and the impacts.  The character Cassie Ainsworth. I just identify with her struggles. Frankly, I can identify with some aspect of every character which is amazing.

 

Cassie is fabulous and in the first two seasons; also known as First Generation. She is part of a group of 16 year olds in their final years before college. While I have not been on the drug binges she has, everything else about her I relate to. So much so that my best friends have watched it and have attained a better understanding of me.  Cassie returns in the 7th season with 2 episodes dedicated to her. My favorite quote is from her in that season as I myself have done it.  It is in reference to her mother and Cassie’s personal battle with anorexia. “We send messages to each other. One summer I tried to starve myself to death.”

 

Beautiful. Raw. True story.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

I mean look at her! She is beautiful. She is relatable! She is one reason to view the show.

 

There is another character who is in the first two seasons periodically, but is followed in the third and fourth seasons as she is part of the Second Generation: Effy Stonem. Effy is also amazing and strong. Their struggles are fabulous and make you think. You grow attached to the characters and feel them.  Effy also returns to the 7th Season for two amazing episodes.

 

ImageImageImageImage

Effy is also beautiful. She struggles with other mental and behavioral health issues, but spoilers!

 

Have I piqued your interest yet? 

 

Check out Skins, UK. It will change your life.  For those of you who struggle with an eating disorder watch it, let me know what you think.  Did you relate? Did you love it? Was it triggering? [This was triggering for me at first]

 

Still unsure? Here is the wiki link for Skins, UK show.  It does provide some spoilers, so I do warn you. If you do not want to click to it, below I included the description as found on Wikipedia.

For those of you who have a loved one who suffers from an eating disorder, let me know if you feel it relates to your loved one. Do you find it helps you better understand them?

 

All in all, if any of y’all watch it, please provide me some feedback.

 

Skins is a British teen drama that follows the lives of a group of teenagers in Bristol, South West England, through the two years of sixth form. Its controversial storylines have explored issues such as dysfunctional families, mental illness (such as eating disorders and bipolar disorder), adolescent sexuality, substance abuse, death and bullying. The show was created by father-and-son television writers Bryan Elsley and Jamie Brittain for Company Pictures,[1] and premiered on E4 on 25 January 2007.[2] The show went on to be a critical success as well as a ratings winner within its target demographic. Over its initial six-year run, Skins proved to be atypical of ongoing drama series in that it replaced its primary cast every two years. Plans for a film spin-off were first discussed in 2009, but ultimately did not come to fruition. Instead, a specially-commissioned seventh and final series of the show was broadcast in 2013, featuring some of the cast from its 2007–10 run.[3] The show’s name comes from the rolling papers known as “skins”.

Other ventures to expand the brand have included a short-lived North American remake, which aired on MTV in 2011 but was cancelled after one season after advertisers abandoned the series in response to low ratings and the significant controversy which arose over its depiction of teen sexuality.”

 

 

Tell Me What You Think

