How to handle summer if you’re recovering from an eating disorder

Harriet Williamson

First published by The Independent, 5th August 2014

Recovering from an eating disorder is never easy, but it can be particularly difficult in the summer. I usually start to feel a mixture of excitement and terror around the end of May, because I love the sun and all the fun stuff you can do while the weather’s nice, but I also know that my recovery could easily be jeopardized over the summer months. For the purposes of this article, I’m going to focus on anorexia, bulimia and a combination of the two (known as EDNOS).

A) Fewer clothes are generally worn
If you’re recovering from an eating disorder, you’ll probably be hyper-aware of how your body looks. I was incredibly anxious about my appearance while in the throes of my eating disorder, but this anxiety kicked into overdrive when I started recovering. I put this down to the fact that…

View original post 484 more words

Tell Me What You Think

