Workbook Recommendations

Disclaimer: I am not a therapist. I am not trying to pass myself off as a therapist. I am not saying that this should be in place of real medical help. I think these workbooks are great additional support and I recommend them based on my own personal experiences alone. Nothing works for everyone. 


When I first started seeing Cherry, she immediately recommended two books for me with sections to read, specific to my needs and understanding. She also gave me sections to pass on to my friends and family to better understand what I was going through. 

I read through the two books and frankly cried a lot. It was my first step of acceptance of a real problem. These two books are aimed at family members of teens with eating disorders, but let me tell you…I found it much easier to read something aimed and directed at someone else and their perspective of me. It made me really realize I had a problem and made it easier for me to accept treatment.

The first two pictures are those books.

Cherry actually trained and worked with Dr. Lock and it was a fresh perspective to be a part of his program and understand the treatment approach I was about to undergo. It’s common in the UK but newer here in the U.S.

I highly recommend these two books. Given to me by my CBT Eating Disorder trained therapist who does family approached therapy with the goal of keeping patients out of inpatient  as much as possible; keeping them in the real world and facing those stimuli instead.

   
  

Now the nurse in me needed a hands on keep it going approach. I wanted more supplemental work to go with Cherry and her assignments. I did extensive research and found this workbook as seen below. I love love loooove it! I personally wrote all the answers in a notebook and would go back and do it again in the notebook to track progress.

I needed to see actual progress and results for myself and this was the best way that did not involve food diaries. Again, it says self help and I say hell no. Never with anorexia. Excellent addition to therapy and guide during relapse.

It actually carried me far and on the right track. Again my personal issues are cyclical and unchanging until I can leave my invalidating and toxic environment. This books really helped me more than I can express!!

  

This next book came as a recommendation from someone in my DBT group. Her therapist recommended it so she tried it. She loved it and swore by it. She would tell me about the activities she worked on and how it helped her. I heard and saw her practice and decided to give it a shot. 

Totally worth it!! For those who are doing DBT, this is fab!!

If you are new to it, this book is amazing!! It explains everything out to you: concepts and all aspects of DBT approach to therapy.

I need both CBT and DBT so this book reinforces my DBT skills. 

The mindfulness is great for everyone. Shit this book is great no matter what you are struggling with: depression, anxiety, eating disorder of any kind, anxiety disorder any kind, mood disorder any kind… You get my point.

It is a workbook that teaches you skills but even evaluates you so you can see where you need to strengthen yourself.

  

Same style as the previous workbook but focused on bulimia. Pretty awesome to have one on your specific eating disorder if I do say so myself. I am envious!! 

I showed Cherry the previous workbook and she was impressed with it. I then told her about this one since she does eating disorders. She researched it, bought it, fell in love with it, and now uses it for her patients who struggle with bulimia. She photocopies the pages and hands them out. 

I feel pretty cool that I found a book that my therapist now utilizes as part of her therapy routine. I love that I am able to help others. 😀

So if you struggle with bulimia or even BED, check this workbook out. Maybe you might find one pearl that is helpful.

  
The sibling to the other two. I have been struggling with anxiety a LOT lately [really Cassie?!?! Hahahaha] so I saw this tonight and thought it was worth a shot and bought it. I’ll let y’all  know how it is. But I have a great feeling!

  

I saw the Bipolar sibling book and decided to include it because some people I follow struggle with BPD. If it is like its sibling the green one, it could be quite helpful. Again, I always say check with your therapist. But anything that can support your work in a positive way should be considered.

 

Okay ladies and gentlemen!

I hope this was helpful!

These books provide me comfort, support, and strength when I need it most. Skills.

If any of y’all end up investing in any of these and using them, please drop me a line and tell me what you think: good bad otherwise!! I appreciate all criticism and love hearing how they work for others.

I will post about the anxiety one.

If you do not want to reply publicly on here, feel free to hit me up privately:

Email: soundofedsvoice@gmail.com
kik:SoundxEdsxVoice

We are a community of support here and I appreciate y’all so I just want to give back the best I can.

❤️Cassïe

One thought on “Workbook Recommendations

Tell Me What You Think

